Options

When should I take the ICND1?

OsiapstndpOsiapstndp Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello! I have been studying for my ICND1 exam for about three months and I'm curious if I'm prepared enough to actually take the test.

I've read Wendell Odom's ICND1 book probably three times, cover to cover, I've had a once-over of the CBT Nuggets ICND1 video series, and I have a lab consisting of two 2950 switches and two 2621 routers. Prior to studying specifically for the CCENT certification I had ten weeks of CCNA training through a college in early 2011, and prior to that I had two years of CCNA training between maybe 2001 and 2003 (I know that really doesn't count for much). I've been working in the field for the past five years in some form or fashion and I can subnet addresses in my head within 10 to 15 seconds due to how long I've been doing it.

I am curious if it would be prudent to invest in source material other than my current selection. Chris Bryant's CCNA package that includes CCENT material seems like a good choice. I frequently watch his Youtube videos and they're really great. I do plan on continuing on to attain the CCNA certification right after I am done with the ICND1, so I would be aiding my future efforts as well.

To test my understanding I only have the practice exam that is included with the Cisco Press book. I consistently get between 880 and 900+ and usually finish with maybe 45 minutes remaining. I read every question carefully to reduce my chances of making stupid mistakes - like seeing two hosts and not noticing the fact that they're on two different subnets. Taking that into consideration, would it be at all fruitful to spend the money on a Boson practice exam? I hear theirs are considered to be difficult and a good way to test your preparedness.

My funds are very strict right now, so errant spending isn't possible. I have maybe a few hundred dollars to spare - including paying for the test!