Options

Opions wanted about current JOB OFFER

FloOzFloOz Member Posts: 1,614 ■■■■□□□□□□
Okay so as some of you may know i have been interning for a company for the past 6 months (counts as one of my college courses). Well finally today they held a meeting with me and offered me a job for when i graduate in May. The position is for a Desktop Engineer role and i would be paid in the low 40's annually and i would also recieve overtime pay. The company seems to be growing fast and the environment is great! My goal, however, is to eventually become a network engineer.

Comments

• Options
    EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Take it and learn as much as you can.
    NSX, NSX, more NSX..

Blog >> http://virtual10.com
  • Options
    do you think it would hurt if i asked if the salary is negotiable?
  • Options
    RoguetadhgRoguetadhg Member Posts: 2,489 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I don't know about you, but 42 (low), would still be 21 per hour. That's not including overtime.

I get ... not even close to that. :P
    In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure.
    TE Threads: How to study for the CCENT/CCNA, Introduction to Cisco Exams

• Options
    TackleTackle Member Posts: 534
    I've read to not ask about negotations if it's only for a few thousand.

I wouldn't even ask, low 40's is great for beginner in IT. I started much lower than that less than 2 years ago.
  • Options
    dberg79dberg79 Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I would ask more about setting performance reviews for future pay raises based on how well you do. Say every 6 months to start and every year after a couple years.
  • Options
    okay thanks guys i will accept the offer as is then. and rogue... 42 hit the nail right on the head lol
  • Options
    darkerzdarkerz Member Posts: 431 ■■■■□□□□□□