ISS degree need some insight

gow75gow75 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have an ISS BS degree from ITT. I got my degree back in 06. From my personal experience of what people say about ITT they are wrong. you get out what you put in. I have strong interview skills and also technical as well. I studied my ass off and actually learned something instead of wasting my time and the instructors. I did not go to school in that it would land me a job because i have a degree, yes i agree only some ITT students will pay for the degree and say make me smart. that is wrong and unethical. make me smart please takes hard work on your part. At this time i do have great paying job but here is the kicker. I am not satisfied with what i am doing. I am not in a security field. i know most of the time getting the degree really does not land you the job. I have been doing telecom which is farther on the spectrum. I am learning a lot but I mostly have experience in IS, systems administration, backups, disaster recovery, servers, apps, hardware etc. I am really want to get back into the security side of things in some way. the way i am just not sure how to. I have seen that a CISSP is a viable solution but have no where near the experience to get it. Should i go for some certs or is there a diffrent path to take to obtain more experience in Education if i cant get it in the Workplace.

Comments

• drumrolfedrumrolfe Member Posts: 50 ■■□□□□□□□□
    How long have you been working in telecom? The CISSP requires five total years of experience in at least two of the ten domains.

Here is the list of domains: https://www.isc2.org/cissp-domains/default.aspx
  • gow75gow75 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□