Options

InfoSec Career Paths?

johny.xmarksjohny.xmarks Registered Users Posts: 5 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey guys,

First of all, congrats on the website/forum. I have found lots of useful here (I've consulted the site for almost a year now), so I decided to register...icon_cool.gif

Now, to the point.

I am a fresh computer science grad, currently working in customer support (temporarily - till i manage to start an infosec career). My wannabe-infosec adventure began when I wrote my Bachelor Thesis - "Computer Network Security by Intrusion Detection Systems". Of course it was relatively superficial, since I had zero experience on it, but completing it was more than enough to spark my interest for the infosec world.

I am also trying to get enrolled in a Master's Degree (Cybersecurity). My understanding is though, that certifications are mandatory in the infosec world. (a simple search for infosec jobs online and the DoD 8570 directive indicate that someone MUST be certificated to have a career).

So, my question is...what are the possible career paths in the infosec industry? Because my understanding is, that only 2 exist. Managerial and Technical. Now, I might be wrong here, but I trust you guys will correct me...icon_lol.gif

Managerial would be Security+ > GSEC > CISSP ?

Technical would be Security+ > SSCP > CEH?

Are these examples correct? Are these the "only" paths? What else is there? And to what kind of jobs does each path lead to?

Excuse me for the long post, but I am kinda excited & a noob as far as infosec goes.

Comments

• Options
    ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    There are a lot of paths out there. One thing I will say though is that from everything I've seen, CISSP is pretty much your primary goal until you have it. While yes, it doesn't get too deep into technical security, pretty much any security professional should get it at some point.