Options

CCIE Learning

jwbensleyjwbensley Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone, new here...

I'm looking to start studying for a CCIE soon (either R&S or SP). I'm wondering, to anyone on here that has one, is it something that was taught to you, or can CCIE's only be attained through self study?

I studied for my CCNP with a university, but I don't think there is anywhere that teaches a CCIE is there? (I'm in the UK by the way!).

I don't like those nasty boot camp thingies. I don't think you retain the information for that long after completion, I only see them as useful for refresher courses.

I'm more than happy to go the self study route, but I just wondered how others have achieved theirs. Is self study the only way?

Cheers.

Comments

• Options
    Mrock4Mrock4 Banned Posts: 2,359 ■■■■■■■■□□
    The problem with the CCIE is that it covers such a wide area, that paying for any kind of training to sustain learning throughout the entire process would be insane. Think about it like this, a CCIE bootcamp is $1,500 - $6,000 for 1-3 weeks. You'd need several months at a minimum of instructor-led training if doing no self-study, and by then, you're talking a lot of money.

I think a cornerstone of the CCIE brand, is taking the initiative, and figuring things out when there's no clear answer in sight- and with that said, even if there was a 6 month "No BS" training course to get your CCIE with (or attempt), you'd still be stuck doing self-study to stay sharp after passing.

Just my $.02.
  • Options
    TurgonTurgon Banned Posts: 6,308 ■■■■■■■■■□