Options

To all who cares 3D video games

thedramathedrama Member Posts: 291 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have been playing video games since 2002, i mean about 10 years. In this time, i have learned so much related to video games aside from how they are programmed. However, there are still suspicions on my mind in certain cases. Especially the significance of VRAM and how lack of amount of this affects the gameplay and cause stuttering issues.

As far as i know, VRAM is much like the system memory(RAM) but this time used to speed up the calculations of graphical stuff for processing by GPU. Its quantity usually expressed with the size of textures used in the 3d video game and once the
space runs out there, CPU looks for space around, first on RAM and if there is no space on RAM as well, goes to hard drive.

According to these,

1) The first thing im curious about is when i clicked the game(specific name).exe, which things are immediately loaded into VRAM?

2) When inside the game(while playing), are the graphics data always loaded from the hard drive first or certain ones grabbed from VRAM?

3) While playing, which hardware causes the stuttering; CPU or graphics card?
Monster PC specs(Packard Bell VR46) : Intel Celeron Dual-Core 1.2 GHz CPU , 4096 MB DDR3 RAM, Intel Media Graphics (R) 4 Family with IntelGMA 4500 M HD graphics. :lol:

5 year-old laptop PC specs(Toshiba Satellite A210) : AMD Athlon 64 x2 1.9 GHz CPU, ATI Radeon X1200 128 MB Video Memory graphics card, 3072 MB 667 Mhz DDR2 RAM. (1 stick 2 gigabytes and 1 stick 1 gigabytes)

Comments

• Options
    WebmasterWebmaster Admin Posts: 10,292 Admin