Options

Getting away from physical work

zenhoundzenhound Member Posts: 93 ■■□□□□□□□□
This is a weird question, but I'm wondering what area in IT would let me get away from physical work. I have a medical condition which is statistically likely to leave me physically disabled at some point in the future and while I'll still be able to work, pulling cables and doing rack and stack server set ups isn't going to work at that point. My interest is in networking and security. If you go far enough in networking, are you out of the physical setup aspects or is that always part of it even if you're an architect or whatever?

Obviously, programming and software development type work might be ideal, but I have no programming experience. Just wondering if I can do what I like or if I should change directions.

Comments

• Options
    odysseyeliteodysseyelite Member Posts: 504 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Get into a large enough enterprise and you don't need to touch the equipment. We have a group that does all the rack and stacks for us.
    Currently reading: Start with Why: How Great Leaders Inspire Everyone to Take Action
  • Options
    daviddwsdaviddws Member Posts: 303 ■■■□□□□□□□
    You could get into application or technical support type positions. In those types of jobs you rarely if ever get up from your desk.
  • Options
    grayfox587grayfox587 Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 48 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Programming, there is no chance you will be doing physical stuff, IT will always be doing physical work.
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    grayfox587 wrote: »
    Programming, there is no chance you will be doing physical stuff, IT will always be doing physical work.

No you won't always be doing physical stuff in IT. As odysseyelite pointed out if you get into a large enough organization there will be teams that do the physical work. Especially the higher you go the less you actually touch any kind of equipment.