Options

Server+ a good cert?

Kai123Kai123 Member Posts: 364 ■■■□□□□□□□
I recently passed the Network+ and also have the A+. I am looking for a entry level IT job now and figuring out what to study towards next.

I was looking at Linux+, but the Server+ caught my eye after seeing that the exam objectives are fairly small, and the minimum to pass is fairly small. I have no knowledge on RAID, disaster recovery and general server usage.

I could learn some good knowledge from studying this. On its own, is it a good cert to have?

Kai.

Comments

• Options
    YFZbluYFZblu Member Posts: 1,462 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I think Server+ could be useful if you were looking to work in a data center type of environment initially, and could be a nice foundation for more advanced vendor-specific certifications that are server related.

As a sidenote I did just search Dice with the keyword 'server+', and the following were the types of positions most common in the search results:

-Data Center engineer/adminstrator/technician
    -Server administrator
    -Systems administrator
  • Options
    Kai123Kai123 Member Posts: 364 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I am looking this up but prehaps someone else will know this. Would a Linux distro via dual-booting be good enough for lab work?
  • Options
    whatthehellwhatthehell Member Posts: 920
    YFZblu wrote: »
    I think Server+ could be useful if you were looking to work in a data center type of environment initially, and could be a nice foundation for more advanced vendor-specific certifications that are server related.

As a sidenote I did just search Dice with the keyword 'server+', and the following were the types of positions most common in the search results:

-Data Center engineer/adminstrator/technician
    -Server administrator
    -Systems administrator

I agree with this.