Options

Job/internship dilemma

davidboydavidboy Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am a junior college MIS student looking for my first career-related internship/job.

I was hired last week as a technical assistant for my school. The pay is decent for student job; higher than work-study programs. They also provided me a macbook for the time i work there.

I was also just informed that i would be hired for a Summer developing (possibly software engineering) internship at a big company for 135% of the pay of my current job.

Would it be acceptable for me to quit my current tech assistant job in 2-3 months (meant to be a permanent position until i graduate) so that i can take on the internship? The internship pays better and is more geared towards what i want to do in my career. I just dont want to leave a bad impression at my current job if i quit so soon since i told them i want to work until i graduate.

I believe the internship would allow me more opportunities for advancement but it only lasts during the Summer.

I really want to eventually be a systems analyst and project manager. Thank you in advance.

Comments

• Options
    dead_p00ldead_p00l Member Posts: 136
    I'm guessing that there's no way you could potentially do both? Having two incomes while you're in school definitely would not be a bad thing.
    This is our world now... the world of the electron and the switch, the
    beauty of the baud.
  • Options
    Id be open to doing both but the hours certainly interfere. Both jobs have a M-F schedule and during the Summer, will require 40 hrs/wk.
  • Options
    UniqueAgEnTUniqueAgEnT Member Posts: 102
    David,

I also have had similar experiences while in my undergrad in MIS. I am now in MIS masters program.

First of all, when do you graduate? Following Spring?