Mixing Cisco with Windows (studying at the same time)

RomBUSRomBUS Member Posts: 699 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hello I kinda need some advice with my current situation...I am currently studying for the Windows 7 Configuring exam (70-680) and I am planning to take this exam eventually. Now I've always wanted to start some Cisco learning at some point in my IT life but never gotten the chance to re-learn (was learning the IOS commands in college) the basics. Now a very cool co-worker gave me his CBT nuggets for the first Cisco exam (ICND1<--sp?) and I wanted to pick it up and study that with these videos first just to get an idea. Now my current job I do not even touch the Cisco devices we have (we have a couple ASA's and our gateway) but want to still learn some Cisco. Now I do not want to be a CCIE or anything like that (at least not even close to thinking that right now) but just to get the first couple under my belt and familiarize myself with the IOS and maybe get the security side of it after. Now my question is should I start the CBT nuggets for the Cisco or do not because I am currently studying for a Windows exam? I mean usually its not a bad idea to study for multiple exams but they are usually in the same field...what do you guys think?

Comments

• buzzkillbuzzkill Member Posts: 95 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Go for it, it keeps it interesting to mix things up and they're sufficiently different so you won't start typing IOS commands into a powershell window.
  • KenCKenC Member Posts: 131
    Mmm, bit of a strange post for someone with your certifications. I cannot see why you should not go for both certs, but I would advise you to do one first, then the other.
  • jamesleecolemanjamesleecoleman Member Posts: 1,899 ■■■■■□□□□□