Options

How Do I Break Into IT? How Do I find an IT Job?

NetworkingStudentNetworkingStudent Member Posts: 1,407 ■■■■■■■■□□
I have an A.S.S degree in IT and I have my A+, Net, and Sec+ certifications; however, I’m still having a hard time finding an IT job. My situation is different, because I work full time and I’m scared to take a contracting job. There are a few jobs I could have taken that were 3 months long, or 6 months and the contract would be over. This might be something I might have to do in the future.
Here are things I’m having trouble with..

2011 I got a lot of interviews at 30 or more companies, including the phone interviews, but no offers. Why am I not getting any interviews in 2012? My resume is solid, and so is my cover letter, I’m not sure what’s happening.

Questions:

Does graduation date play a role in finding an entry level IT job? I graduated in Dec 2010 with an A.A.S in IT.

Do I have to take a contract or contract hire job to break into IT? Currently, I work full time in printing, so I’m scared of these types of unsteady jobs.

If I take a contract job, and get let go and can’t make a student loan payment, what happens to my student loans, do they go into default? Can you get unemployment?

How do you stayed motivated in your job search? It feels like now every time I send an application that it sucks the life out of me. I’m just not sure what to do.

I’m just not sure how/when I will be able to get an IT job, but I’m going to keep learning( and studying for certs) and keep applying. I hope something turns up eventually.

Anyone have any advice?
When one door closes, another opens; but we often look so long and so regretfully upon the closed door that we do not see the one which has opened."

--Alexander Graham Bell,
American inventor

Comments

• Options
    techdudeheretechdudehere Member Posts: 164