Options

CCENT or MCTS?

IvanjamIvanjam Member Posts: 978 ■■■■□□□□□□
I am a security guard transitioning into the IT field. I still haven't landed that coveted IT job but I recently passed the A+ and I am currently studying for the Network+. I am not sure what direction my career will take, thus my medium term goal is to get CCNA and MCITP certified. This can be accomplished via the CCENT and MCTS, respectively. My first question is: in terms of job prospects (most likely in helpdesk support), what is more marketable - CCENT or MCTS (Windows 7)? I am more inclined towards the CCENT as I am currently studying for the Network+ but I assume that the MCTS is more relevant to helpdesk support. My second question is: again, in terms of job prospects, is there any merit in pursuing the HDI Desktop Support Technician or the ITIL Foundation certification or should I concentrate on the purely technical certificates at this stage?
Fall 2014: Start MA in Mathematics [X]
Fall 2016: Start PhD in Mathematics [X]

Comments

• Options
    ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    CCNA and MCITP:EA are not short goals. Combined they will probably take least a year. For someone with no experience they could take even longer, 2-3 years if you are studying in most of your free time.

I'm not saying don't get both,but focus on the track that you want to be in. If you want to be a Windows sysadmin, go down the Microsoft route after Net+. If you want to be a Cisco guy, go down the Cisco route. For short-term prospects, MCTS: Win7, configuration has more market value than CCENT, but that shouldn't be the deciding factor for you.
    Working B.S., Computer Science
    Complete: 55/120 credits SPAN 201, LIT 100, ETHS 200, AP Lang, MATH 120, WRIT 231, ICS 140, MATH 215, ECON 202, ECON 201, ICS 141, MATH 210, LING 111, ICS 240
    In progress: CLEP US GOV,
    Next up: MATH 211, ECON 352, ICS 340
  • Options