Options

How essential is an actual hardware lab?

theanimaltheanimal Member Posts: 77 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am a reservist and my MOS deals with networking, we covered all of CCNA, though we didn't take the cert test.

I got a job as a NOC tech and during the downtime at night, I am studying for my CCNA using CBT Nuggets, which I know people say isn't the greatest, but after 9 months of schooling, I feel as if I just need a decent refresher on some of the subjects.

My question is, if you study the material online and in plenty of books, and use network sims, is it essential to practice on a physical hardware lab to pass the CCNA?

And what about the other certs, I would like to get my CCNA-V and CCNA-S, and eventually my CCNP. With enough reading and study, without having a physical test lab, would they be achievable?

Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    sizeonsizeon Member Posts: 321
    You dont need a lab to pass the CCNA. Just get packet tracer and your good to go.
  • Options
    sizeon wrote: »
    You dont need a lab to pass the CCNA. Just get packet tracer and your good to go.

Thanks.

What about the CCNA:V,S,W? Or CCNP?
  • Options
    NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Building a home lab is not essential for passing the CCNA, CCNP, or CCIE.
    With enough reading and study, without having a physical test lab, would they be achievable?
    With enough reading and study and practice, they are achievable.

No home lab doesn't eliminate or even lessen the requirement to get in plenty of practice.
  • Options
    Building a home lab is not essential for passing the CCNA, CCNP, or CCIE.

With enough reading and study and practice, they are achievable.

No home lab doesn't eliminate or even lessen the requirement to get in plenty of practice.

Thanks a lot, that was just what I was hoping to hear.