Options

PBR - is the return path the same as the destination path?

lon21lon21 Member Posts: 201
I am just learning PBR with Cisco routers, while I have got this to work via a access-list and route-maps. My understanding is each packet is checked with the PBR and then the routing table.

If the above is true, then I believe PBR should be implement to both ends of the router where the path connects, as having only one PBR provide routes for packet which are destined but the return packets i.e. in tcp would take another route.

I am correct, I am missing something?

Thank you.

Comments

• Options
    poguepogue Member Posts: 213
    lon21 wrote: »
    I am just learning PBR with Cisco routers, while I have got this to work via a access-list and route-maps.My understanding is each packet is checked with the PBR and then the routing table.

The bolded part I believe is only true if you use the "default" keyword in the PBR commands.
    If the above is true, then I believe PBR should be implement to both ends of the router where the path connects, as having only one PBR provide routes for packet which are destined but the return packets i.e. in tcp would take another route.

One common use for PBR is to choose which of two ISPs to route outbound traffic to. PBR gives you no control over how the internet routes traffic back to your network.

Not sure what you mean by "both ends of the router". Do you mean the LAN side and the WAN side?

You seem to be saying that PBR "should be used" in a certain way.. PBR is just a tool that allows you to match a certain condition or conditions, and then to take a certain action afterwards.

Please give us a little bit more info on what you are actually trying to accomplish with PBR, and we can let you know if you are looking at things with the right mindset.

Russ
    Currently working on: CCNA:Security
    Up next: CCNA:Voice
  • Options
    vinbuckvinbuck Member Posts: 785 ■■■■□□□□□□