What the most embarrassing technical mistake you ever made?

Comments

• GOZCUGOZCU Member Posts: 234
    I was playing with the company's CMS. And after a small mistake web site was down :) . URL was not working any more. It was 6 pm and there was a meeting with important customers next day at the morning. Aaa, the most critical issue was; there was no backup of the web site. (don't ask me why, it was my first week at the job)

but thanks God, Google cache helped and charmingly it was working again before the meeting.
  • f0rgiv3nf0rgiv3n Member Posts: 598 ■■■■□□□□□□
    A couple jobs back I was setting up a GPO for a user that was going to be shared and used on PCs that were publicly accessible. So I created the GPO, and went to town locking down things like removing the C:\ from view, no options menus, manually changed the desktop wallpaper to one I randomly created for test purposes, etc...

I went home.

Well, I was a newbie and forgot that the GPOs have "Authenticated Users" in the apply-to by default and at this company we linked ALL GPOs at the domain level. Soooooooooooo..... Every single person that came in and logged into their computer that morning got that new lock-down policy including the wallpaper. Luckily it wasn't something ridiculous, just like a picture of a mountain with some text on it. There were quite a few people who had to reboot, etc... in order to gain access to their C:\ again :D