Options

IT Manager

ASUSTeKASUSTeK Member Posts: 148
Hey guys, im new to the IT Industry and i was just wondering what would be the best path (in terms of certifications excluding a BSc or MSc Management Information Systems) to eventually become a IT Manager?
The Begining Of Wisdom Is "I Don't Know".

Comments

• Options
    jmc724jmc724 Member Posts: 415
    Get some certs...mcse/ccna and the get your bs in mis...start working....
    What next?
  • Options
    janmikejanmike Member Posts: 3,076
    That is correct, jmc724.

If you're going to shoot for management, then you'll have to aim at it.
    These jobs are held by people with education and experience. Go to school and get the education in Information Systems Management, with the masters degree it's even better. Pay attention to your courses and electives and learn how to communicate--IT onfo mangers spend a LOT of time in meetings.

You have to get the experience from the ground and upward. A+, Network+ will give you good basic foundations to launch into other certs and, more importantly, areas of work. You have to learn systems, and you only do that by working with them--certs won't do that and, degrees won't do it either.

Certs will/won't make you look good. It depends on the HR guy doing the hiring and/or the people you work for. They may or may not be impressed--most likely proud of you if you demonstrate your ability well.
    I have yet to see any systems admin types say something like, "Wow! you have MCSE! I know you can get this LAN back up and running right!"
    But, certs are a most excellent indication to yourself that you have reached certain levels of achievement in you experience and knowledge.
    And, like I said, they will likely impress the hiring department and may get you an interview, and may be that "little bit more" that will get you hired instead of someone else without the cert.