Options

Should I start CCNP study or go for the CCNA: Security now?

CodeBloxCodeBlox Member Posts: 1,363 ■■■■□□□□□□
So I've just finished my CCNA and would like to continue in certification. I noticed that the IINS will be going through an update and will start at the end of september with the new objectives for certification. I currently have no real world network experience on the job but can lab at home. Should I start CCNP study now and do CCNA security when the new objectives are released or vice versa? Would it hurt to start CCNP now or will it scare off possible future employers due to the fact that I've got no work experience?
Currently reading: Network Warrior, Unix Network Programming by Richard Stevens

Comments

• Options
    RoguetadhgRoguetadhg Member Posts: 2,489 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Because of the way the certifications refresh, I decided to go with ROUTE > NA:Voice > SWITCH > NA:Security. > TSHOOT. In the advent that I get another job sometime down the line, i'd like to be able to know the basics of the specializations. I have to admit, wireless interests me so much though >< more so than seeing cisco (Everyone else) or meridian phones (Kmart) all over the place.

...It got to the point I counted how many cisco phones I could spot in the wild. Shocking.

As far as scaring people off. I don't see the problem with saying "I've earned my CCNP". Really though from what i've read here in Techexams, the NP is the base line for people to recognize you as being a engineer of sorts. As far as experience, purchasing equipment is better than labbing with simulators. Its one thing to do the simulator/emulator, its a whole different thing to deal with cabling issues, buying upgrades, taking it apart, maintence.
    In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure.
    TE Threads: How to study for the CCENT/CCNA, Introduction to Cisco Exams

• Options
    SteveO86SteveO86 Member Posts: 1,423