Options

Need of education advice

dragonshizdragonshiz Member Posts: 78 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone I have been reading this site for a while and thought whatever advice you could give me would be greatly appreciated. Right now I am currently at the halfway point of getting an A.A.S. degree, however, I'm wondering if it's going to be worth my money to complete. I currently have experience working 6 months as a NOC Tech and I just started a great job doing Help Desk and Desktop support last month. I also have 3 different CompTIA certifications (A+, Network+, and Strata IT Fundamentals) that I have obtained over the past year with the Security + up next and either CCNA or MCTS after that. In addition I have a Bachelors of Arts degree with a major in History.

Now when I go to further my career and move into a higher level position is the A.A.S. really going to matter at that point? I know that for an entry level position it's going to have an effect but I already have my foot in the door which I know can be the hardest part. However, moving into something above entry level I figure its going to be more based off experience and certifications and than combine that with a bachelors degree, does an A.A.S. really add any more value at that point? I dislike stopping half way through the A.A.S. without anything to show for it but than again if I'm wasting money I would like to know lol. Any help is appreciated. Thanks!
WGU - B.S. Information Technology
Goals for 2013: Complete B.S. Information Technology from WGU (Completed! Graduated August 2013), CCNA (in progress)

Comments

• Options
    ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    It is absolute not worth your time or money to complete, no matter what it costs or where you're getting the degree. A BA in anything is more valuable than an A.A.S. No A.A.S. will ever signify you have sufficient IT skills to get any real IT job. Your experience and certifications do a much better job of that.