Options

Newbie here, thanks for having me (I need career advice) LONG READ

offsafetyoffsafety Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Thank you all for having me on this site. I found this place after some serious self searching. But enough dramatics, I need help, period.

OK guys so I feel I should give a little bit of a backstory into who I am, and yes I'm putting myself out there. I'm a 29 yr old hispanic male living in New York City. The highest education I have is a high school diploma. I have about 1yr and a half of college where I majored in MIS, back in the early 2000's (2001-2003).

Without going too much into details, I pretty much ended my studies there and before long I landed an entry level food service position at a prestigious hospital here. Since then I've moved up the financial bracket by moving to different departments (a clerk in the medical records department, scheduler for pediatric surgery, and now a patient financial advisor, ie registering clinic patients and discharging them with their proper appts). Along the way I've also acquired a family (wife, two kids and a dog). It's all lead up to this, 8 years of moving within a union knowing that I could do more. My friends... I have been procrastinating, to put it most gently.