Options

Career path question

alexander77alexander77 Member Posts: 54 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello guys,

I've been reading techforums for a short while and I learned a lot of useful tips about the IT job market and what books to use to study for my certifications. Currently I work in desktop support but I am looking to move out of it because it's getting boring now, so I'm studying for my ccna to get into networking. I looked at getting the CISSP in the future after getting the CCNA, but I wanted to know from you guys with more experience in the field whether that's a viable career path and whether I would be able to land a job if I were to obtain my cissp?

Comments

• Options
    DigitalZeroOneDigitalZeroOne Member Posts: 234 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Landing a job isn't based on your certification, it's based on your experience, your interviewing skills, and a host of other factors. Having a certain certification can get you past the initial line when an employer requests that an individual has certification A or B, but usually a CISSP certification holder is going to have years of experience, and 5 years is what ISC2 requires that someone has before they take the exam anyway. The CCNA, although not a cake walk, is definitely something that is probably attainable much faster than a CISSP. You could always go for the CCNA Security when you achieve the experience.
  • Options
    NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Landing a job isn't based on your certification, it's based on your experience, your interviewing skills, and a host of other factors. Having a certain certification can get you past the initial line when an employer requests that an individual has certification A or B, but usually a CISSP certification holder is going to have years of experience..