Options

Job and Car, drive coworker on my way home?

Hi there,

As you may already know, I started my job about 4 months ago and I passed my probation. This month I purchased a car to get to work. Hoping to reduce the bus travel time from 1 hour 30 mins to 45 mins. I'm still a fairly new driver - I got my license since 2010 but I didn't really drive for 1 year. Now, I'm back in the driving mode to head to work.

My colleague knows that I just bought a car. It appears like he wants me to drive him ONLY heading home since we usually take the same route. I honestly don't want to have any passengers with me for various reasons: 1) i'm still a new driver 2) i'm not experienced enough to drop people off at random streets (it sounds very easy but my feeling tells me that i don't want any passengers with me) and 3) appears like a hassle when i can drive straight home than to drive into a driveway...drop off...then back into the roads.

I'm still in the process of learning how to drive to work and i will be driving on certain roads. I will be driving on specific lanes to drive home safely. I would have to drive in the right lane to drop my colleague off (and i hate that lane since there are too many bicycles) and stuff. And there isn't a drop off area unless i put my emergency lights on or if there is a red light.

I know this may sound heartless but i don't know how to tell my coworker this.

Comments

• Options
    CodeBloxCodeBlox Member Posts: 1,363 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I would just tell him no. You're not responsible for him. Is he going to pay for gas?
    Currently reading: Network Warrior, Unix Network Programming by Richard Stevens
  • Options
    jenbotjenbot Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□