Options

Confused About Cisco Equipment Kits

jlacroixjlacroix Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone. I'm just starting out in my CCNA studies. I've been browsing through the forums for a bit, trying to find answers, but I still find myself confused about a few things.

First, I found this certification kit online and it seems to be a decent deal:
CertificationKits
But, I'm looking for the possibility of continuing to run my home network off of Cisco equipment even after I pass the CCNA. That router doesn't appear to be Gigabit. My home network is currently all Gigabit. (Literally every computer, switch, router I currently own). I'd rather not downgrade. Then again, money is a HUGE factor. My goal is to learn on Cisco equipment, but also replace my D-Link router with a decent Cisco one.

I researched the Cisco 2501 that is offered in that link, and it appears to be over 10 years old, which makes me wonder how relevant it would be today.

My certification goal is to get CCNA and then at least CCNP. Any help is appreciated. I'm hoping to achieve my CCNA by the end of the year if I can pull it off.

Comments

• Options
    veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I would use eBay and buy them piece by piece. Kits are usually over priced, and often older. Take a look at Odom's recommendations and make sure you get the routers and switches with newest IOS you can find:

CCNA Build Lists

I would recommend skipping over the 2501s and just getting a 2600 series router or newer. I personally enjoyed the 2501s because I learned the difference between the commands needed on the 2651 I have and the 2501. Kind of cool, but none the less I would still skip them.

Last thing, unless you would like your electric bill to spike I wouldn't keep the Cisco gear on all the time.
  • Options
    tr1xtr1x Member Posts: 213