Options

New guy from the D with some questions...need help

detroitaldetroital Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Some background for me. I grew up in the late 70's and went to school in the 80's. When I went to electronics classes in the 80's we had pc's (no hard drives). So a lot of change. I worked in computers (what I would call a miniframe). It was a Sperry Univac V77 series, you used buttons and pushed them in the correct order to get it to run...:) Now current era. I have a degree in BMET that's Bio-medical engineering technology, medical equipment repair. So here it is. The Biomed world is very quicly turning more and more to IT. With my background (I also worked a HelpDesk briefly) I see what is coming but am not sure how to go. That is, I see that networking will be huge and it also would help to know the hardware (A+ Net +). That is the dilemma. On the one hand, I know A+ can help me. On the other the exams kept changing and I never got in and did the work. Now I am so confused I am not sure where to start. Can you folks tell me, if you were starting over (remember I have to study for all certs I go for) where would you start? Used to be that A+ was the place to go. I am questioning the need for it looking at it from the POV that I may not use it/ On the other hand it will always help and the MS/CISCO stuff can wait. So to sum up...

a) Are the A+ exams going to change again and you have to keep studying over again for each one and is it worth it?
b) If I am looking for MCITP and or CISCO is A+/ Net + necessary at this stage in the game?
C) What would you recommend for self study? I will be bringing an elderly relative home and will also be a caretaker for a while at least.
D) If I get the chance would it be better to get a degree in college first in Computer science?

Thank you for your responses...

Comments

• Options
    NOC-NinjaNOC-Ninja Member Posts: 1,403
    a. not worth it = $10/15 per hr to me is crap
    b. no