Options

Lucking Out with Bosses?

the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
Ever feel like you hit the jackpot with bosses you've had? I'm not talking the boss of your boss (that's usually hit or miss), but the person you report to directly everyday. I was thinking about it last night and found that my direct bosses have been pretty awesome the past 5 years. I know this comes as a surprise, but I'm not the easiest person to get along with. And yet, so far so good on the bosses front! Might have to get the current one something for bosses week (if they have it...).
WIP:
PHP
Kotlin
Intro to Discrete Math
Programming Languages
Work stuff

Comments

• Options
    tr1xtr1x Member Posts: 213
    Yep, I have been very lucky. Makes the work environment sooo much more enjoyable.
  • Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Well, I'm not a problem child like the_Grinch, HAHA! Pretty lucky here too. Out of my last 4 bosses I keep in touch with all but one (no one liked him). The 3 always appreciated my contribution and valued the team as a whole. One of them has been my friend for over 15 years. Current boss is also great. Can't complain at all.
  • Options
    TrifidwTrifidw Member Posts: 281
    My previous manager I saw once every 3 months if that and probably shared less than 100 words in person over 2 years. He didn't even bother to introduce himself on my first day... They've since made one of the team members the team manager (who reports directly to the director of IT) and we get on great.

Where I worked previously I still get on great with the manager. :)
  • Options
    RoguetadhgRoguetadhg Member Posts: 2,489 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I don't really have a Boss, i'm unsupervised! Meh. It's not all that it's cracked up to be.

My bosses are good people, intelligent too. I just wished I were in the same building so I could see the network and stuff.

I'd rather take the experience of watching and learning and doing with supervision :)