Options

Just failed CCNA. Should I change my WGU degree emphasis?

missy2687missy2687 Member Posts: 31 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone. This is my first "real" post. So I failed the 640-802 today (score 735). I'm in the process of enrolling at WGU and as of right now I have told my enrollment counselor that I wish to complete the BS-IT w/ no emphasis. I'm considering switching to the Network Admin degree since the CCNA is part of the curriculum. That way I can focus on studying for the CCNA w/o having to study for any other college classes at the same time. My dilemma with the Network Admin degree is that the MCITP is included with it. Background- I have zero professional IT experience (trust me I've been trying!), no certs, I graduate with my AAS next week (yeah!) in CSIS- Cisco Networking and Security (Security is not for me), and I have also completed the Cisco Networking Academy through my community college. With that being said I fear that I would struggle with the MCITP and may end up spending more money trying to achieve the Microsoft certs through WGU (paying for multiple semesters or extra vouchers if needed) rather than studying for them on my own. Not to mention the pressure of being under the gun to get those certs done within a reasonable amount of time to maintain SAP (I'm on student loans, which is another factor).

From the beginning of this journey I have been focused on becoming a Network Engineer, but as I venture out further into the world of IT other occupations have caught my eye such as Systems Admin, ERP, IT Business/Systems Analyst. I figure the BS-IT with no emphasis would allow me to check out other avenues and at the same time earn the BS degree at the same time.

With that being said just looking for thoughts on if it would be more beneficial to stick with the BS-IT or change to BS-IT Network Admin. Any comments, thoughts, suggestions, would be much appreciated! TIA!

Comments

• Options
    ValsacarValsacar Member Posts: 336