Options

The "which cert should I get" but with a twist - how to prioritize for maximum pay?:)

paul007expaul007ex Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
My background...

I have 10 years of technology experience including software development (e.g. C, VB etc..), program management, project management in Windows operating systems, application security, IT security etc.. and I have a degree in Computer Science. I'm the jack of all trades and have enjoyed the adventure.

Most of my background comes from Windows since I worked at Microsoft for the majority of the time, however, I am looking to expand to other platforms. I have worked with Linux and Virtualization but far from an expert.

Currently, I am a Technical Account Manager focusing on security products making ~100L and feel very fortunate to do so. It has required a lot of hard work, but also luck. Like everyone, I'm looking to make 'more.' Cert wise, I only have the CISSP which I from a career perspective, has helped me quite a bit. Moving from my old job, I am making 30% more / year. It was a great learning experience and for those that qualify, I say bust your ass and skip everything in between.

My philosophy is that although certifications will only go so far, a cert book + real hand exercises (e.g 'virtual labs') can be very valuable and provide a solid roadmap for technical development. I believe they can be a great stepping stone and filling in the gaps in tandem with intens labs and/or experience.

Right now, I'm trying to prioritize between..

RCHA
CCSK.
WireShark (simply for the technical troubleshooting aspect).
CCNA.
X virtualization cert (which one?)
LCP-1
ITIL (more management focused..)

Not really interested in 'stepping stones' such as Linux+, Network+, Project+ etc.. When I go for something, I go big or go broke.

My goal? Pretty simple: make the most $$.. with the least amount of effort and stress :):).
The roles that *I* am aware of that will take me to the next level are...