Options

Difficulty in earning MS certs(Win 7, Server 08) without any MS experience?

ArabianKnightArabianKnight Member Posts: 278 ■■■□□□□□□□
I am going to be studying for my 70-680, 70-685-6, then 70-640 soon. I have zero IT experience, who has passed these tests only by studying and not using any exp. Can it be done without any labs or virtual means?

Comments

• Options
    buzzkillbuzzkill Member Posts: 95 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Plenty people fail these exams in spite of having lots of experience (just read the respective forums to hear some stories). 680 in particular can catch out seasoned Win 7 supporters as it delves into the deployment side of things in quite some detail. I didn't find 640 particularly easy either.

On the flip side I'm sure lots pass them without any experience.

They are however designed for people who have real world experience with these technologies.

Noone can say it is impossible to pass by only studying but I must ask WHY you would not even want to do some labbing in virtual machines? After real world experience, experimenting with these technologies in VMs (setting up, breaking, fixing) is the BEST way to learn all about them.

If you just read a book and manage to pass the exam then you will be a proper "paper cert" and if your goal is to use these certs to help get a job (I'm guessing it is since if you had a genuine interest in the subjects then you would set up labs) you could be in for a world of pain if you do manage to get one off the back of these certs
  • Options
    N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    That's going to be a rough road to travel IMO.

Good luck!
  • Options
    ArabianKnightArabianKnight Member Posts: 278 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I am using a Netbook with a 10" screenicon_cry.gif