RHCSA Study time?

clarknovaclarknova Member Posts: 51 ■■□□□□□□□□
I've started working from the Michael Jang book and working on self-study trying to do a couple of hours work every day. I'm enjoying learning new things from it even though I've been using Linux in its various forms for several years but now I'm trying to manoeuvre myself into a position where I can move into Linux admin full-time rather than my current role where I support a predominantly Windows server-base with a few Linux (mainly Debian) boxes that I have introduced myself.

Ramble over, my question is, how much study time is enough? I want to take the exam in the next few months but want to pass it first time due to the expense which will be coming from my own pocket. Is 2 hours a day enough? I'm a bit worried about the practical format of the exam being different to the usual multiple choice exams that I've experienced with my LPI and Comptia exams in the past.

Comments

• YuckTheFankeesYuckTheFankees Member Posts: 1,281 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Take enough time to where you can go through all the objectives by yourself, without looking at your notes. Like you said, it's a performance based exam, there's no multiple choice question to save you. Two months sounds good, but there's no need to rush..take your time to absorb the material and actually learn it.

If you search the term "RHCSA" on indeed.com, you will barely get any hits..most Linux jobs that require a certification list the RHCE certification. Just keep that in mind.
  • clarknovaclarknova Member Posts: 51 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for the reply.