Options

Resume advice that I hope helps...

schmalz2schmalz2 Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
After I followed Cainman2K3's advice in this post Reddit can we compile a list of tips for creating a Resume / CV and Cover Letter? : AskReddit I started to get many calls for entry level IT positions and other positions I qualified for in other fields. Only three out of eleven interviews were for IT, not including 2nd interviews, but the point is that I got interviews after I changed my resume. After all the interviews with different companies I think I have finally learned to relax during interviews. I don't have IT experience, only self taught material and I have the CCNA certification. Today I officially accepted my first entry-level position in IT. The company seems great. :D I just want to tell people with no experience to not give up. I had many, many days that I thought I should give up and go into another field. I also wanted to share the resume advice I found since I know how hard it is to write resume. I've spent countless hours on this site looking at posts about resumes and interviews. Hopefully this job works out for me!

Here is another post of Cainman2K3's that might help IAMA Director of a Los Angeles-based Career Center. Need job hunting advice? AMA. : IAmA

Comments

• Options
    yamaj615yamaj615 Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Congrats on getting your 1st IT job! I know how hard it can be to get your foot in the door. 2 months ago marked my 5th year in the field. Working my way up from a PC Technician to a Senior System Engineer. I am almost 27 years old now and it has been a rocky ride. I held many roles in IT including Network Support to Application and Website Development. I survived and now my career is becoming very prosperous.