Options

The new guy looking for the path to enlightenment

SentrosiSentrosi Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello Techexams. I'm the new guy around here. Just trying to plot my course so to speak.

I graduated from ITT in 2002 with an associates degree in Computer Networking. During my school I went and took a state exam for a Computer Operator. I got hired shortly before I graduated and worked in a data center. I monitored consoles working the weekend night shift. With a growing family I found this to be unacceptable so I submitted my name for a new position that had opened up working in the security unit of my agency. I got hired two years ago and now...still wondering what path to take. Due to the fact that I work for a state agency, there is not a lot of call for anyone to be certified in any area. As long as you are a healthy, breathing body and have the desire to have them train you, you're eligible apparently. I like working in the security unit but I want it to be a better security unit. So I'm here musing on a certification path to take and would like some help/encouragement along the way. I have been to both the SANS 401 and the CISSP Boot Camp. The CISSP was probably as far reaching as I could possibly get and I don't anticipate taking that until I have a firmer foundation under my feet.

Currently my work responsibilities are the following;
Managing a vulnerability appliance and a HIPS appliance
FOIL requests (keyword searches, importing images, generating reports, etc)
Help conduct wireless scans of two agencies
Running vulnerability scans once a month
Running website penetration scans