Options

Good move or bad move?

JasionoJasiono Member Posts: 896 ■■■■□□□□□□
I like to think of this as a good move but want to hear your opinions, or read them (unless you want to post up an mp3 of yourself haha).

I just graduated in December with an associates degree in computer networking. I was ignorant and started applying to jobs everywhere wondering why I wasn't getting hits and came to this forum and did research. I found out why and the reasoning is because all I have is this associates degree and no experience/certs, with the exception of circuit city (I was a bench technician).

I saw that a job opened up a week ago for a network engineer and here was my thought process when I applied to it:

I know the network administrator. I've gotten a tour of the networking department with a very nice overview of what they do. Him and I are friendly, we even did a volunteer day at work for a non profit organization, and talked about server issues I was having during school.

I know for a fact that I will not get this job simply because of my lack of experience and certs, and I had that on my mind while applying. My reason for applying was because I know we have 1 network technician who will be going out for it, he would be silly not to, which means his position will open up afterward.

Mainly applied to this position to see how the administrator interviews and what he is looking for in an interviewee.

I picked up a network+ exam book and the cbt nuggets last week and plan on taking the exam either this weekend or next, either way I will have it by the time the network technician position opens up.
I know there is a chance this will blow up in my face and the technician doesn't go for it or doesn't get it but if you don't take a chance there is no chance at all.

Comments

• Options
    BigMevyBigMevy Member Posts: 68 ■■■□□□□□□□