Options

Military guy looking for some advice

subsooner711subsooner711 Member Posts: 40 ■■□□□□□□□□
Looking at possibly getting out of the military in about a year and a half, and I am trying to get an idea of job possibilites. The problem is I don't have a ton of IT experience. Right now I have Security+, and before my enlistment is up I am going to get CCNA, and 70-640. I am also working on my associates in MIS.

The schools that I've been through while in the military are a networking course, network security course, and an ISSM course. Good courses and all, but you don't get any kind of certification with them. The big problem is my job didn't revolve around IT. I was an electronics tech (radiomen), and dealt with communications. I did basic troubleshooting of computers, ping, tracert, telnet, etc... Beyond that there isn't a ton of IT experience.

I guess my question is am I going to be able to leverage my security clearance, certs, and military experience into something other than starting out at a help desk position? Not that there is anything wrong with being help desk, but I was hoping to avoid a big pay cut. I am not really dead set on going down any specific path. I have interest in both the network and system side of things.

Thanks ahead of time guys!

Comments

• Options
    IStudyCiscoIStudyCisco Member Posts: 4 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Prior military with a security clearance, military schools, and certs will have little problems getting a contractor position working on or near an installation. If you're open to continuing to work with the military you have the advantages of knowing how the military works, have already been vetted (clearance and honorable discharge), and an active clearance.