Options

IT Fields Question

CLEMENTE21CLEMENTE21 Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am thinking about enroll PSU for Information Technology BA degree. I am searching for which IT fields will suit me. Since I am deaf and hear/speak is out of questions. Any IT fields that not requires for speak or hear? I researched IT fields and I think Network admin may be an excellent choice for me, don't you think? Any advises would be great.

Before you suggest, I love to be around with computers, I am into it for 15 years, but never thought about involves IT careers. Last year I graduated Electrical Technology with AAS degree. No electrical jobs want me. I thought about IT career because I am pretty sure almost every IT staffs have smart phones where I could use email/text forth and back when it comes to IT related business. Unlike "electricians". I always repair PC and laptops, fixed my parents' computers when it hits virus (they are clueless how to identify). etc.

Okay, Thanks for advance.

P.S. I am thrilled to be here, I never thought there is IT forums existed. Duh me.

Comments

• Options
    NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Hrm. I suspect an inability to ever discuss an issue with a customer will be a stopper for many employers, even if many issues are handled entirely by e-mail. A 5-minute discussion sometimes clears thing up very quickly! I suspect you would have better success in the realm of software engineering, electrical engineering, or as a lab technician. Those are roles where you could literally tune out the world and mostly focus on your piece of the puzzle.

What I would suggest you could do to improve your chances--

1) Can you learn to speak, even if not perfectly, or use text-to-speech software? Stephen Hawkings speaks through a computer and he still succeeds as an interesting public speaker.