Options

70-642 exam

brad_121brad_121 Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
So I sat the 70-642 exam for the 2nd time today. And for the second time failed... icon_sad.gif

Feeling a bit disheartened and wondering where i can improve from here. I have been putting in extra time and lab practice (including getting up earlier before work as one forum member suggested - thanks) I am about to find out about this week whether I have got a new job which will be a little less technical.

Whether that means I continue with the MCITP or not, well the jury's out on that one. But at the very least i feel i need to complete and (finally) pass the 70-642. Whether it be to finish something i've been working on and off for 6 months to complete or as a first step to the MCITP...

My first score was 595 with 700 needed for a pass and today's score was 577. What's weird is (without wanting to break the NDA) is that the amount of questions i received today was significantly different to the amount i received the first time around... weird.

The area I did significantly worse in today (but good the first time round) was 'Configuring Addressing and Services' and i think that was in part due to ipv6

The resources i've been using to prepare is the MOAC guides (which i don't particularly recommend) and the self paced training kits (which are better). However the copy of the self paced training kits i have are server 2008 and not 2008 r2. Do they even come in a 2008 r2 flavour?

I've been using the practice questions i got with both of these books too.

Can anyone recommend some things i can do to improve and finally pass?

Comments

• Options
    Dr ITDr IT Member Posts: 351 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Sorry on the Fail . but dont lose hope

What CBT 's are you using ? I have had mixed review from both Trainsignal & CBT Nuggets . so got them both from a Friend ( who had them ) .

I am preparing for the 642 and was told this was the easiest exam in the MCITP Track ( but to be honest i find this topics tough )