Options

Mirroring 2 PowerEdge R710 Rack Servers

NadzzNadzz Member Posts: 70 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I am new to VM so please have patience with me, my question is that we have 2 identical Dell PowerEdge R710 servers at work, first 1 is running VMware vsphere 5 that boots from in built flash SD card, we setup first new baremetal servers and then setup our Netapp data storage with it, and install our print, DHCP and different application servers on it.

Its all working fine,now we bought another same exact spec server and install VMware vsphere 5 on it, it does have around 5.41Tb of RAID 6 storage, and now we want to set it up so it will be the exact replica of the first VMware server, Idea is to get rid of our 3 or 4 current servers and put new VM's on our new Dell servers in which we can hold multiple VMs and place 1 at each site. Then setup the VMs to be replicated between each site for disaster recovery purposes.

Is it possible?

Will VMware site recovery manager 5, Veeman or Vreplicator will do the job?

Do i need to setup cloning or take snapshots and then move them to the 2nd server?

Apologize there is not much info here, but i can provide more details if you guys need.

Please check the attachment

Thanks in advance. :biggrin:
Attached Files

Comments

• Options
    dalesdales Member Posts: 225
    You can do this pretty easily with veeam, you could use SRM but TBH its not as feature rich as veeam B&R 6 is. You can do replication compression with veeam and near CDP with the software all you need is two windows licences one for the veeam install at the main site and another at the dr site as a proxy so that the veeam vm and the proxy vm can compress and replicate data. If you have a look at the veeam website there are loads of handy resources on how it works and also youtube is also a good place for real world user generated demonstrations.