Current Job - Is it worth it?

EquusEquus Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello fellow Tech Exam Forum Members!

Been lurking around for awhile now and finally have something of interest to post.

I recently (about 7 months ago) took up an IT position that was along the lines of helpdesk, you know, level 1 resetting passwords, etc. This was at a fairly medium sized business with about 140 employees and multiple offices.

I used to work in another field entirely (unrelated to IT), but made a little bit more. Moving to this new place, my pay went down to $12 an hour. At the time of the transition I was still in college, so no degree yet. As the days went on though, my duties started to spill over into other "areas" so to speak such as as networking and systems administrator, exchange, etc. Furthermore, I've also negotiated contracts and been practically on call since day 1, taking phone calls on the weekends, etc.

Well a couple weeks ago I graduated with dual majors (Associates) in Networking and Systems Security and requested a raise/promotion, well even with everything I've done and my two degrees and my general performance, they felt that it didn't deserve a promotion into an actual "Systems Administrator", but raised my pay by about $3 an hour.

Now mind you I have no certifications yet, haven't gone down that path is I am still undecided where to go. As it stands, I work about 50+ hours a week and the fact that I am in a sense the only onsite IT guy for the entire company, makes it extremely stressful.

Is it worth riding this out until the end of the year just to be able to put all my job duties down on the resume? Or am I probably better off just getting another job that pays me what I am worth? I already know that if I attain some higher level Cisco or Microsoft certs that they definitely won't be able to come anywhere near what the people in surrounding area make.