Getting a IT job with no experience and a finance degree?

hamlin69hamlin69 Member Posts: 36 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello I am having a little issue finding a job in the IT field. I currently have my A+ and have decided to go more into the "network admin" area so I started studying for my NET+ and then I will get my CCNA. The issue I am having is how will I get a job(or even an interview) with no IT experience? I have a degree in finance, so that is useless to me in the field I want to pursue. How would I make a resume with no related work experience? I know enough about computers to probably get by doing the job but company's want professional experience. Most entry level jobs ask 1-3 years exp with configuring WAN, LAN switches routers etc but I don't have any experience so how can I get some if I can't get hired by anyone?

I did get a job as a computer tech guy for 16$ an hour but I turned it down because A) its not something I want to do and B) From my calculation of my expenses, I need to make 19$ an hour just to get by. I cannot afford to live on $16

Comments

• AkaricloudAkaricloud Member Posts: 938
    I think you need to lower your expectations. A computer tech job for $16/hr is pretty good as far as an entry level job goes. I doubt any company is going to hire you to do higher-level work on a production network when you have absolutely no experience.

Take any IT job to get some experience, keep working on your NET+ and CCNA, and in no time you'll be able to move into a better position. Don't expect to get places without putting in the work!
  • hamlin69hamlin69 Member Posts: 36 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Akaricloud wrote: »
    I think you need to lower your expectations. A computer tech job for $16/hr is pretty good as far as an entry level job goes. I doubt any company is going to hire you to do higher-level work on a production network when you have absolutely no experience.