Is this normal?

drew726drew726 Member Posts: 237
I've been working at my job for about 7-8 months. I started as a NOC Tech in the bay area and I make 55k + benefits and bonuses, which is about normal for a NOC guy in the bay. They're going to be hiring new CSR's so the NOC guys won't have to have face to face contact with customers anymore and they'll get paid less obviously. I'm going to move over to the system engineering side and the time I gain from not having to do phone/email customer support is a lot because it was like 75% of my job. I'll still be doing some tickets if it gets escalated to me, but i'll be mostly doing backend projects and I'll even have a new job title, Sys admin. I thought this would be a promotion, but it turns out I'm not getting a raise to go along with the new title. Did I get screwed? Now I feel a bit underpaid for my position but I do get to gain a lot more experience. What thoughts do you guys have about this?
Completed Courses:
SSC1, SST1, AXV1, TTV1, ABV1, TNV1, AHV1, BAC1, BBC1, LAE1, LUT1, GAC1, IWC1, INC1, HHT1, LAT1, QLT1, CLC1, IWT1 TPV1, INT1, TSV1, LET1, BOV1, AJV1, ORC1, MGC1, BRV1, AIV1, WFV1,
TWA1, CPW2
Incompleted Courses:
nothing :)

Comments

• paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I depends on the company and how it's organized. There are companies usually much larger ones where operations and engineering have equal level of skill and competencies required at each pay grade. So a move from the operations side to engineering could be a lateral move. Usually these are slightly more mature organizations.