Suggestions for Linux experience?

DomoSnatchaDomoSnatcha Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Forum! Noob here. :D

Can someone here suggest where one should look for Linux internships/volunteering to acquire experience? There seems to be non-existent market for desktop support (at least in my area) for Linux - which is heavily saturated by Windows. Usually on the Windows side you'd get A+'d then start at the bottom of the ladder. This is what I had considered first but I don't see any positions of the like in my area. Most of the positions I see on sites like dice/monster are way out of experience/position level.

Should I just lab it up, get the basic certs, then start applying for junior positions w/o real world experience? Or should I wait, get experience by way of what's mentioned above before certs?

Thanks

Comments

• SteveLordSteveLord Member Posts: 1,717
    There is no such thing as Linux desktop support. ;)
    WGU B.S.IT - 9/1/2015 >>> ???
  • Darthn3ssDarthn3ss Member Posts: 1,096
    I can't comment on Linux certifications because I don't have any and haven't looked into them enough; but I think the only way you're getting experience with Linux is by downloading it, installing it, and playing with it. I doubt anyone is going to let an inexperienced technician (ie at an entry level job) touch a live/production server in any useful capacity.
    Fantastic. The project manager is inspired.

In Progress: 70-640, 70-685
  • DomoSnatchaDomoSnatcha Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
    SteveLord wrote:
    There is no such thing as Linux desktop support. icon_wink.gif

Really? How come I see certifications from SUSE and positions in different states tailored to that on dice/monster? Surely there are businesses with Linux workstations for their regular users right? Unless their HR is ridiculously clueless or something - I don't see how there isn't such a thing.

REMOVED UNNECESSARY QUOTED REPLY FROM PREVIOUS POST

@Darthn3ss