Opinions on which certifications I should remove

2»

Comments

• dave330idave330i Member Posts: 2,091 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Mstavridis wrote: »
    Maybe I am just being ignorant and stubborn but I feel like you guys are saying too much education is bad.

Listing all of OPs certs is like stating, "I have a 4 year BS degree, minor in art history and I graduated from HS."
    2018 Certification Goals: Maybe VMware Sales Cert
    "Simplify, then add lightness" -Colin Chapman
  • IristheangelIristheangel Mod Posts: 4,133 Mod
    Dave is completely right. All that irrelevant BS takes up valuable real estate on your resume and it's NEVER good to make it look so full that it's harsh on the eye. If you're applying to be a senior network engineer or a CTO, no one cares about your A+. In fact, it might look like you're trying too hard if you're trying to draw attention to every large or small accomplishment
    BS, MS, and CCIE #50931
    Blog: www.network-node.com
  • N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I'm going to take the approach of removing most of the CompTIA's from my resume along with MOF V4 (nobody knows what it is anyway).

Project + is coming off no need for it. Security + and ISO 27002 ISIS F has me confused. Which one supercedes the other? Any ideas?

Thanks again for all the great information, this has been a great learning experience.
  • powerfoolpowerfool Member Posts: 1,666 ■■■■■■■■□□
    My rule of thumb is to list things that are relevant and show a progression. For instance, my resume reads as such:

Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) - 2011
    Cisco Certified Network Professional: Security (CCNP Security) - 2011
    Microsoft Certified IT Professional (MCITP) Enterprise Administrator -2010
    Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer (MCSE) Windows Server 2003 - 2010
    Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) - 2010
    Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) - 2008