getting IT career started

flankflank Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am a new member and would like to say hello to everyone.

I have always been interested in computers and liked the idea of working in the computer/IT field ever since high school. I really wish I would have taken school more seriously and either went to college or started getting certifications earlier in life. Anyways, after getting laid off from my last job that had absolutely nothing to do with computers, I decided that I either need to get educated or I'll end up being stuck working what-ever-I-can-get jobs having nothing to do with the computer field for the rest of my life. Since I am most interested in server administration and very familiar with Microsoft operating systems, I decided to take a MCITPSA course at a county college. I have since passed the 70-640 and 70-642. I am studying to take the 70-646 which would give me the MCITPSA certification.

I have been applying to many jobs on careerbuilder and dice that I felt I was qualified (or even over qualified as per the job requirements) but have not received a single call back from any of those places. I honestly feel that with my knowledge I am perfect for a help desk role but I have yet to receive a interview from anyone. Should I be sending follow up emails/calls or is there something wrong with my resume?

Also almost every “entry-level help desk” job on careerbuilder or dice wants a 2 or 4 year degree or X years experience. How do I get my career started when I don't have a degree or the X years related experience?

I do have an upcoming interview with a local company that provides residential and business IT support. The position they have available is for an in-store pc technician. I wouldn't mind working as a pc tech but what worries me is once I pass my 70-646 and begin looking for a help desk or system admin type job would the experience as a pc tech benefit/help me towards advancing my career?