Options

My experience

TroyOwnsTroyOwns Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Throughout the past two months, I studied nearly everyday to obtain my A+, Network+ and Security+ certifications. I used Professor Messer's videos and various practice tests. From there, I have been actively looking for an entry level help desk or desktop support job. I've been using the popular job search engines such as indeed, monster, dice and careerbuilder. The problem I've been having is nearly every entry level job requires 2 - 5 years of experience and or a BS degree in Computer Science. I do not have either of these. I decided to try a different approach and find a staffing agency. I talked to a recruiter at Robert Half which lead to an interview. In dress pants and a ironed button up shirt, I drove to Robert Half and filled out the paperwork. I went back into the recruiter's office and waited for him to arrive. He showed up and brought another lady with him. He explained to me that she will be sitting in on the interview with us. I talked with him and told him that I wanted an entry level position in help desk or desktop support. The only thing he put emphasis on from my certifications was A+. That really upset me because I worked for the other two. The lady in room explained to me that, "We feel you are selling yourself short with your resume." The man doing the interview wrote down on his piece of paper that he's going to e-mail me some resume templates (which he did). Afterwards, I took a test on a computer on Windows XP and 7 that I could have passed when I was 16 years old. There were things like auto arrange these icons and empty the recycle bin. I left the office very upset. I still do not have a job in IT and I'm back to the same old stuff with the job boards. I did use the templates to improve my resume. The next step in my certification path is the CCNA. I am hoping maybe that can do more for me than what the CompTIA entry level trio has done.

Comments

• Options