Options

First time contractor looking for trade secrets

armanguaarmangua Member Posts: 21 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm extremely interested about how I can maximize my experience as a contractor and avoid pitfalls. What sparked this, besides being new and curious to the field, I have been hearing things like what we can write off come tax time. I want to learn everything that I'm capable of doing (legally), to earn/keep the most money or anything else to take advantage of. I am currently reading Dave Ramsey's "The Total Money Makeover", to start off on the right foot.

So, just a tiny bit about me; 24 years old, living between Baltimore and DC, but working closer to DC. I'm only 4 weeks in my first govt. contract. I was just told this past Friday that I should be going full time/perm (at least longer than 3 months, lol), after working pretty hard for it. I believe I am currently being investigated for a security clearance. Along with the book, I'm studying for Security+, and studying (ISC)2 CAP for the understanding of Risk Management Framework (RMF), though not testing yet.

Any tips, thoughts or suggestions are welcomed. Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    ValsacarValsacar Member Posts: 336
    If you were getting a clearance, you would know 100% as you would have to fill out a TON of paperwork. Things to do, take advantage of any education/training they offer (once full time), normally you'll have to repay them in time (ie. if you quit, or get fired, in 1-2 years after using it you have to pay back some of the cost). Better money is overseas, where you don't pay federal taxes (up to around 95k a year) and your housing is paid for by the company.
    WGU MS:ISA Progress:
    Required: NOTHING!!!!!
    Current Course: NONE

Completed: COV2, LKT2, LOT2, FNV2, VUT2, JFT2, TFT2, JIT2, FYT2, FMV2, FXT2, FYV2, LQT2
    Started 01 May 2012, Degree awarded 29 Oct 2013
  • Options
    shodownshodown Member Posts: 2,271