Options

How to Handle? What to do in this position?

jblake1986jblake1986 Member Posts: 49 ■■□□□□□□□□
Currently I am a support manager for a software company and have had really good success. I started about a year ago at a decent salary which I thought at the time was a little low, but it was the type of position I was looking for. We were struggling financially and I put in some processes and changed some things in the business that made us successful. We went from 5 months of a loss to a 9 month profit and during that time I became the CEO's right hand. Currently I am still a support manager, but without asking my salary rose to 3k in Jan, then 10k in April, then I got a bonus structure that was roughly 15k per year. I am really happy with this, but I have my annual review coming up and I am not sure if I should ask for some additional money or a job title change. What is everyone's experience with this and do you have any advise?

P.S.
When I started I took a 6k raise from the last job. Which effectively means in 1 year my salary raised 34K.
ICND1 Test Apr 23
Failed to load the poll.

Comments

• Options
    paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■
    What's your current title and the size of the company? And if you are comfortable disclosing your salary range - that may be a factor.

One thing that you don't want to do is to have a title that is not line with your salary or the company size. It looks a bit weird on a resume.

Also - if the company is sufficiently mature - is there a formal career path structure? Titles would be normalized across functions so that it's easier to determine rank in the organization.
  • Options
    atorvenatorven Member Posts: 319
    I don't get this, do you feel that you are underpaid for the work that you do? Has the work you do changed from what was in the job description when you started? In this new job, your salary has increased by 28K and you want to ask for more? Were you underpaid from the start?
  • Options