Options

How tough is this exam...

AintRiteAintRite Member Posts: 84 ■■□□□□□□□□
if I choose to do this right after my CCNA? Or should I complete Comptias Security+ after the CCNA then on the the CCNA:S. Just looking for a little advice as I get my next semester at WGU together.

On a side note what is the best book or resources for this exam?

OH I forgot to add I have no experience in Security at all. If this isn't a terrible test I plan on taking this and the CCNA in my next 6 month term.
WGU - BS: IT Security...in progress

Comments

• Options
    spd3432spd3432 Member Posts: 224
    Current version (640-553) of the test expires on Sep30. New version (640-554) goes into effect on Oct1. If you don't have CCNA locked down yet I doubt you have enough time to study for and take the 640-553 before the expiration. I didn't look into training materials for the 640-554 (I knew the deadline I was shooting for).

As for Security+, while it's not required for CCNA:S, there's a lot of common framework (IPSec, encryption, attacks, etc) that are covered in it. Also, if you end up working for DoD in some manner, you'll be required to have Sec+.
    ----CCNP goal----
    Route [ ] Studying
    Switch [ ] Next
    Tshoot [ ] Eventually
  • Options
    Nope don't have my CCNA as of yet. So it looks like I will be taking the newer test sometime towards the end of this year then or beginning of next year after I complete my CCNA. I dont think I will have to take the Security+ if I take the CCNA:S before switching my school programs.
  • Options
    docricedocrice Member Posts: 1,706 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I took the CCNA Security exam a few months after I got my CCNA. I spent three weeks studying the official Cisco Press book. Now that said, I wasn't new to IOS, Cisco firewalls, or security in general when I took the exam so your experience will definitely not mirror mine.