Options

Ubuntu vs Redhat/CentOS in the Enterprise.

langenoirlangenoir Member Posts: 82 ■■■□□□□□□□
So I'm a linux noob, been usingFedora(on my desktop) and CentOS(on my servers) for a few years now. I just had an interview for a company I really like. I'm mostlygoing to be doing the VMware / EMC stuff, but they run Postfix,amongst other things, on Ubuntu server. Now I've always been of themind that I would learn one thing really well in IT before I wouldmove on to other products. I don't feel like two years of RedHatwould put me in a position to know it well. I'd like to get myRHSA/E, but is this Ubuntu thing going to screw me up?

Comments

• Options
    ChooseLifeChooseLife Member Posts: 941 ■■■■■■■□□□
    I was in a similar position and had similar doubts some years ago. My experience at the time was mostly with RedHat/CentOS on servers, and this company used Ubuntu Server exclusively. "Ubuntu is a noobs' desktop OS" I thought to myself. "You will like it" said one of the technical interviewers. And he was right - I did grow to like it a lot over the following years. Ubuntu Server has its debianisms and there was a good chunk of time spent at the beginning learning "the Ubuntu way" of doing things, but generally the experience was pretty smooth. More importantly, I have gained invaluable technical experience because of the role I accepted with the company.

So my advice is to look at the role, responsibilities, and the opportunities for growth it presents. Technologies that you will work with are a very important factor, but Linux distro should not be a deal breaker, IMO.

P.S. And we ended up introducing RHEL at the company some time later :)
    P.P.S. Ubuntu Server is making its headway in the cloud environments anyway, so it may screw you up in a good way ;) (i.e. convert to a valuable Ubuntu server expert)
    P.P.P.S. If you have any more questions on the subject, shoot