Options

WGU Question

ClevernamehereClevernamehere Member Posts: 34 ■■■□□□□□□□
My first post on this board will be on a topic everyone is probably tired of talking about but you never get answers without asking a question first so.....

I'm just trying to get into the IT field. I have no experience past working on systems for friends and family and I looked at the WGU admissions requirements for an IT degree and they list experience or certs to gauge how well you would do in the program? Is that right? Just wondering if I would have a chance of getting in and since it seems like some of you guys have good experiences you seemed like the bunch to ask. I am trying to get my A+ right now in hopes it will help me get my foot in the door somewhere (passed the 701 on Monday and taking the 702 this Monday). I'm hoping it will help me get an interview for a transfer at my current job actually (I'm an insurance underwriter.) I just think I'd really enjoy getting a degree and certs at the same time, but man what I really want is that experience! I know a career change will be difficult but heck I'm young and I have a passion for the industry so I'm gonna make it happen. I realize this is long-winded and ill-formatted so thanks to anyone who reads and/or responds.

Comments

• Options
    ValsacarValsacar Member Posts: 336
    A+ might work, Security+ definitely should work to get into WGU without experience. Experience is hard to get, but a degree and certs should help you get a low level entry position.
    WGU MS:ISA Progress:
    Required: NOTHING!!!!!
    Current Course: NONE

Completed: COV2, LKT2, LOT2, FNV2, VUT2, JFT2, TFT2, JIT2, FYT2, FMV2, FXT2, FYV2, LQT2
    Started 01 May 2012, Degree awarded 29 Oct 2013
  • Options
    DrovorDrovor Member Posts: 137
    Although I have the IT experience to qualify, on my transfer evaluation they used my Security+ to met the admissions requirement. I believe A+ would also meet the requirement as it is transferable as well.