Options

A+ and Network+

j.petrovj.petrov Member Posts: 282
I just wanted to get an idea if anyone with just these two certs was able to land an entry level job. I'm in the midst of a career change, and recently got my A+ and have been applying to help desk and desktop support jobs like crazy... 16 Jobs this past week. I haven't had any luck yet as I have no related experience. In about a week or so I'll be taking my Net+ exam.

I'm wondering if anyone has had any luck landing an entry level job with these two certs and no related experience.

Comments

• Options
    gadav478gadav478 Member Posts: 374 ■■■□□□□□□□
    REMOVED UNNECESSARY QUOTED REPLY FROM PREVIOUS POST

I've got both (A+ and N+) and no PROFESSIONAL experience. I do have some computer science courses under my belt (entry, i.e. prog in C, prog in C++, assembly language, intro to comp sci etc). I have recently been offered a position and got it on the strength of my A+ (didn't have the Net+ until this past week) and my phone and in-person interviews. I'm currently waiting for my clearance to come through which is necessary to start work.

The way you tailor your resume is crucial. Use all experience as leverage, no matter how small. Anything is better than nothing, IMHO. Also make sure you build a solid connection with the recruiters you're dealing with. If they remember you, they'll call you first.

I would suggest Dice.com as well as CareerBuilder and Monster. I posted my resume 4 months ago and still get calls for A+ related work. Persistence is key, there is light at the end of the tunnel.

Good luck if finding a job is your goal.
    Goals for 2015: CCNP
  • Options
    EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■