Options

Not your typical post for seeking career advice.

guhtguht Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
First let me apologize for the length and scope of this post. I know this is definitely not one of the standard posts on here, and perhaps this is not even the appropriate place for this post. However, I am hoping some people can relate, and offer some compassionate insight into my situation. I feel kind of lost and I have a lot of background information to share that I feel is critical in understanding my current situation and what kind of advice I am seeking and will benefit from.

I am currently 37, male, and have basically worked with computers my entire life in some capacity or another. I have no formal education other than high school.

My father started working for a nationally recognized government agency as a computer programmer in the early 1970's, and I was exposed to PC computers at a very early age. My earliest memories were of playing text based PC computer games like Zork, and I would attribute video games in general as initially being what sparked my interest in computers. I use to frequent the arcades, and I am still a huge video game lover to this day.

In high school I took a couple semesters of computer programming in the Pascal programming language, which was what was offered at the time. I did quite well in my computer classes, but I was not very strong in math, as it did not peak my interest like computers did.

In the early 90's I made several attempts at going to community college and pursuing a degree in computer sciences, but at the time, and mostly unknowing to myself, I struggled with depression, ADD, lack of identity, lack of self-confidence, and alcohol abuse.