Options

DNS Suffixes

DB77DB77 Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
OK So I am studying DNS suffixes on the client DNS settings from the MS Press booka nd had a few questions.

The first question is about connection specific DNS suffixes. The book uses the example that when other hosts query a host with dns connection specific suffixes they will connect to that host on a particular network link based on the dns suffix included in the query. I got that part. However if the host with the connection specific dns suffixes uses a single hostname tag to query am I to understand that what actually happens is that the host's primary dns suffix is appended first and then if not resolving goes through the connection specifix suffixes one by one until the hostname is resolved?

Second question has to do with dns suffix search lists. The MS press book is not clear but it seems that if you configure a DNS suffix search list then the host's primary dns suffix is not appended and only the suffixes in the search list get appended for the query? Is that correct? Also the book uses the example of an office network made up of two different AD domains, east.candpl.com and west.candpl.com. Both domains can currently communicate with each other when querying the fully qualified domain names but the questions is what can be done so that they can communicate with each other by using single hostname tags and the answer was to use group policy to setup dns suffix search list for the opposing domain. this does not seem to make sense to me because if you configure the hosts in the east domain with a suffix search list that includes the west domain then the primary dns suffix in the east domain never gets appended when east clients are querying other east clients because only suffix search list supercedes the primary dns suffix on the host. thus east hosts won't be able to resolve other east hosts. Is the solution to include the east's primary dns suffix to the search list or am i missing something?